My experience of a late Asperger’s discovery, as seen through a Creative Writing filter

Sometimes I end up writing my own “lyrics” to existing songs.  Music often serves as the ultimate inspiration (or “trigger”, in a good way) for me, bringing forth ideas and avenues of expression that I might otherwise never unlock.

Today, I was listening to Disturbed’s cover of the song “Sounds of Silence” by Simon & Garfunkel.  And the following came to me about 5 minutes ago (it’s fresh).  It’s about what I went through emotionally as I discovered my Asperger’s type, and the release, pain, redemption, and transformation that I felt.  Sometimes creative writing is the only way I can truly express something.  To fully experience the emotion behind it, just pull up the video by Disturbed – Sounds of Silence (YouTube video link) and feel the music as you read it. 🙂

Please forgive the piece’s imperfection; I wrote it in 10 minutes (start to finish) and felt compelled to share it, in case anyone else has felt the same way and it ends up being therapeutic for someone ❤

(Edit 7-27-2016: I realized that it was slightly unfinished, missing the proper ending, so I added one more part at the end.  Also made typo corrections.  So if you visited yesterday or earlier today, please read one more time–this is the final version.) 🙂

Screen shot 2016-07-27 at 2.41.45 PM

Thank you for reading this.  It means more to me than I can say. ❤

12 Comments

    1. Yes!! Thank you 🙂 Rarely have I felt so closely understood. It’s a warm blankety feeling ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

