Reblog: Unschooling Myself After All These Years

I’ve been given the honor of sharing a fantastic article with you.  I’m still blown away.  We, the people on the spectrum, may appear “normal” on the outside.  But that’s only because we’re dang good actors.  How can we not be?  After all, we’ve been “schooled”, 24/7, practically our entire memorable lives.  Without further adieu, I thank VisualVox for granting permission to reblog this article.  I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I do. 🙂

Oh. My. Lord.

barbed wire fence in front of a field of wheat I’ve been blocked off for a very, very long time – kept in a state that was socially acceptable by a persistent, pervasive, subtle cultural violence that left it mark

I recently read a great article by a mother who is “unschooling” her autistic kids – Possibilities. It talks about having “radical trust” for kids, to know what they need, to develop as they need, and to not resort to the usual pressures and enculturation and forcing them into neurotypical straightjackets, just to be like everyone else… and pass as yet another regular person just going about their regular life.

It’s interesting that I came across this, because I was just thinking earlier that day about how my very strict, rigid, constantly correcting upbringing did turn me into a successful imitation of a neurotypical, who passes easily in the non-autistic world, and is a productive member of society. I was…

View original post 1,345 more words

Leave a Reply

