Sharing: ‘The Silberman Issue’

As much as I like Steve Silberman, and as grateful as I am that he’s not advocating for genocide, abusive therapies, or any other such nonsense, AFlickeringLife makes an excellent point that needed to be made, and I thank them for having the courage and taking the time to do so. šŸ™‚

A Flickering Life

NOTE: Steve Silberman himself has offered his response in the comments.

I have nothing personally against Steve Silberman.

Steve Silbermanā€™s book NeuroTribes is a solid piece of writing that argues many of the same ideas Iā€™ve put forward on this blog. Itā€™s a book that expresses optimism about our futures. Itā€™s a book that respects us. Silberman did an immense amount of research and it shows.

Furthermore heā€™s worked hard on outreach to the community. He interacts constantly with us. Heā€™s constantly pushing the cause of neurodiversity. As much as an outsider to our community can do, heā€™s attempted to do. I respect that.

So itā€™s not as easy to do a piece in which I have to call out Silberman. Heā€™s not Autism Speaks or a cure advocate. Heā€™s at least on the right side. But I canā€™t hold my tongue any more on this.

Steve Silberman has becomeā€¦

View original post 577 more words

2 Comments

    1. You’re very welcome! Thank you so much for writing it – it’s an excellent post, and I feel the exact same way, but you expressed it so much better than I would have. I really enjoyed reading–and sharing–it šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

