The Blogger Recognition Award Nomination…

I’m honored to have been nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award by Tim!  Thank you very much. 🙂

Since That’s-The-Extent-Of-My-Small-Talk(TM) (lol), here are the rules:

Rules

  1. Write a post to show your award.
  2. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select other blogs you want to give the award to.

How My Blog Started:

“Up until today, I was relatively silent.  I was alone with my newfound realization.  I didn’t have the urge to “go tell it on the mountain”, but I do have the urge to release.  I realize we (Aspie females) are not all silent; many of us have crafted beautiful blogs with intelligent and thoughtful posts.   These blogs and their posts felt like a wave of hugs that calmly blanketed me, comforting me and helping me realize that I wasn’t alone.  Today, I want to begin contributing to that supply of comforting information and insight, as limited as it may be right now.  Not only do I have that urge to release, but I also have the urge to share, give back, and contribute.” – from this blog’s first post “The Silent Wave” (next-to-last full paragraph).

And described also:

“Witnessing and basking in the beauty and eloquence those authors generously released into the cyberscape, I wanted (very much) to give back, pay it forward, and join in.  So, I started this blog about a month after my own Asperger’s discovery.” – from the third paragraph of the more-recent “About that ‘security blanket’…” post.

I didn’t create the following image, but it describes my sentiment to a tee:

screen-shot-2016-10-01-at-1-02-53-pm

Two pieces of advice to new bloggers…

  1. Be yourself.  Be honest.  Be real.  Be genuine.  Don’t be afraid to say what you’re thinking, even if it’s an “unpopular” or “non-PC (politically correct)” idea, even if it goes against the mainstream group-think.  Be true to you.
  2. Try not to get stuck on stats (statistics, such as “views”, visitors, “likes”, comments, and subscribers/followers, etc).  I can’t count how many blogs I’d visited, whose writers and posts had changed my life so dramatically and positively…and for a while, it had never occurred to me to “like” or comment on their posts.  My visit to their blog–and the transformation it so profoundly generated–was only evidenced by a tiny little “hit”, a single number on their stat counter.Meanwhile, behind the scenes, I was tearing up on a daily (or multiple-daily) basis (“finally, somebody gets me!” “This happens to other people, too!  It’s Not Just Me!”).  I was copy-pasting links to those posts on my Facebook page and into my smartphone’s Notes app to save for later–in addition to bookmarking them in my browsers.  Those earlier-discovered authors never knew what kind of impact they had on my life; they had no way of knowing because I hadn’t thought to go “like” the post, and my words seemed too insignificant next to theirs to make a sufficient comment.

    So, never underestimate the number of lives you might be changing, or the magnitude of relief or freedom or inspiration you might be giving someone.  Often, we’ll never know exactly how many lives we’ve touched or how we’ve touched them.

I have so many other blogs I’d love to select; many of them have already been “tagged” and have already written their posts (LOL), so I’ll tag some that I haven’t yet seen tagged, and also some others that I hadn’t yet given as much attention that they very much deserve.

TypicallyIndividual

Seventh Voice

Cambria’s Big Fat Autistic Blog

TheQuestioningAspie

I Am My Own Experience (My Autism Journey)

AutisticZebra

Autism and Expectations

In So Many Words (Trish)

Tina J R (I’m Not Alone; I Have Myself)

Thank you again, Tim!  I’m deeply grateful and honored to receive this. 🙂 ❤

7 Comments

  1. Those are the rules for the other award, the Blogger Recognition one, lol. In the Versatile Blogger rules you’re supposed to give seven random facts about yourself. Much better idea though, instead of giving seven random facts about yourself, all the readers have to give seven ideas that they think ‘might’ be facts about yourself 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

