Update, March 15: ‘Menu’ pages & more! One new, one existing page expanded

Hi Everyone!

I’m amazed and humbled by how quickly this little blog has grown, and I’m ecstatic to meet and bond with all of its new followers, many of whom are extremely talented with awesome blogs of their own (!), and the amazing commenters who have essentially, beautifully, transformed this once-tiny blog into a really neat semi-community-forum/gathering-place!ย  I never imagined that would happen; if it crossed my mind before, it was only a fleeting moment that seemed entirely out of reach.ย  And yet, here it is ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m doing my very best to keep up, both with interacting with everyone, visiting their blogs and reciprocating support and friendship, and providing new content on a fairly regular basis, in order to keep helping more people.

I also thoroughly enjoy receiving and responding to messages, which I’m always open to and honored to receive!ย  I confess that this is an unusually busy time for me right now; a dear (and elderly) friend who has been staying with us suddenly began to have some serious health complications over the past week and a half, including a trip to the hospital, and I’m currently staring down the barrel of a 200-question written exam (offered twice a year, incredibly expensive) whose date is rapidly approaching (Saturday 3 April), over and above the usual workload and family life (lol) ๐Ÿ™‚ย  That’s not to make excuses, but rather, to explain myself if I sometimes seem to run “hot and cold”; sometimes the spare time really is touch-and-go.ย  Sometimes I get to choose between blog time and sleep time (lol).

But there is light at the end of the tunnel for some of this stuff.

In the meantime, I’ve come to cherish not only my growing readership (Hi!!ย  And Welcome, and Thank You!), but also the lovely reunions with a few of this blog’s earliest supporters from those first days, weeks, and months (So happy to see you!!ย  And Thank You, too, for your support then and now!).

I’m incredibly touched by the beautiful outpouring I receive from people who reach out to me to say that a post particularly struck a healing nerve, helped them through a difficult situation, helped them understand themselves, eased a painful thought or feeling, or helped them feel less alone. โค

Although I try not to be redundant or monotonous with my post topics, I will often come back around and write about a topic I might have already written about, if I can frame it in a new light, or if I have come across new information, or if I’ve gained a new perspective, or gone through a new experience, etc.ย  Since my bond with many of “my” new lovely followers has been “only” recently established, it’s very likely that a post I’ve written about may have a similar companion in the archives that might help in similar ways (to those mentioned above).

Understandably, with over 350 posts on this blog, it’s no small task to sift through every post written over the past 10 months ๐Ÿ™‚ย  So what I’ve done is to create a new page, in which selected posts (not all 350, but I chose those I felt were a representative sample of relevant posts) were categorized under semi-organized headings, all on one ‘Essential Reading’ page, for easy location/navigation.ย  For example, if one of the posts on relationships particularly resonated with you, then it’ll now be much easier to find other posts on relationships without having to sift through everything else ๐Ÿ™‚

This page isn’t a regular blog post, but it’s a page accessible on the menu (at the top of the site for desktop users, and the “Menu” button for mobile users”), so you can get to it at any time, from any post ๐Ÿ™‚

To facilitate the desire to “retro-help” (i.e., help people out today with posts written in the past) even more, I will likely begin to include my own version of “similar posts” at the bottom of certain new ones, so that if a particular post spoke to you, helped you in any way, or connected/resonated with you, you might be able to find even more of the same benefits more easily, post by post. ๐Ÿ™‚

One last tidbit I’d like to share is that I’ve updated and expanded the existing Resources page (also accessible via the Menu, anytime, from anywhere on this site), to include more books, a couple more bridge-building websites (between people on and off the spectrum), and a few more additions.

My intention is for both the Essential Reading and Resources pages to be updated regularly as applicable, so please feel free to bookmark and/or check back periodically! ๐Ÿ™‚

For those of you on the spectrum who are currently writing books, whether hard-copy or ebook, whether self-published or through a publisher, please feel free to sound off in the comments and tell me about it (yes, you can absolutely provide links–to your blog, your Amazon listing, etc), because I’d love to compile a list of books and other productions by Actually-Autistic people so that we may all learn from each other, share with each other, and support one another as much as we can. โค

I think that’s about it for the updates; my work for the day is nagging at me, but I’m making every attempt to blog a little later โค

Love, Aspie-friendly hugs, and so much gratitude to you all!!

โค

โค

โค

26 Comments

  1. marvelous idea. to be honest, in the old (even pre-wordpress) days, they used to do this with forums that started to reach a certain amount of information.

    “I will often come back around and write about a topic I might have already written about, if I can frame it in a new light, or if I have come across new information, or if Iโ€™ve gained a new perspective, or gone through a new experience, etc.”

    i do this all the time on my own blog.

    its you, laina– its us as you say, (and thanks for that) but its you that brings us here. h-e-r-oh, so lovely (yes im being deliberately corny now. deliberately corny, but utterly sincere.) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3rFNbSKpEE

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww you’re awesome, thank you so much for your amazing words and support! Truthfully (my turn to be corny here but I mean every word ๐Ÿ˜Š), you’ve been instrumental in forming the lovely forum that this has become, and I value your presence here more than I could ever explain in words ๐Ÿ˜˜โค๏ธ. I just appreciate your support so much, and I love watching the conversations between y’all – it’s too cool – cooler than I ever could have imagined ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ’˜

      Liked by 3 people

      1. ๐Ÿ˜˜โค๏ธ

        i love when you call us “y’all.” i had an ex (you know this one) who looked like liv tyler (and sounded english, though she was southern, and said “y’all.”) youre more welcome than welcome. ๐ŸŒบ โค

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, dear friend! โค๏ธ. Ha, you’re ahead of me; I haven’t taken my shower yet lol ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ’ž

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not at all surprised that your blog is doing do well, it’s among my favorite Autism related blogs.

    One question, are you interested in books written by Autistic people about Autism, or any books written by Autistic people?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You are truly doing an incredible job. Isn’t it so much fun reading everyone’s post, interacting with the authors and getting to know them with responses from the heart. We are learning so much from each site and to feel the support and encouragement is energizing. Like you we feel so honored when people share themselves in their comments to our post. We feel that if and when we meet these folks it will be like sitting with old friends. It is such fun being connected to you and learning through your eyes and words!!!!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. OMG thank you! And oh yes, that’s exactly my experience too!! ๐Ÿ˜˜โค๏ธ

      I experience it (the whole blogging experience in general) like this…

      First, I have an idea. I’m really excited to get it out there. An electric kind of tension builds.

      Then, I write the post, search for the perfect image (lol), add 40+ tags, 1-4 categories, and hit publish. Ahh, relief! And also a sense of accomplishment. Yay, I did that! Go me ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Then come the Likes and Comments. And that’s what truly makes me smile. As in, a physical, real-life grin ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜Š

      And then come the replies of yet other people, in response to the comments by others. Discussions blossom like neat thunderstorm clouds except there’s no storm, only humor, joy, solidarity, camaraderie, empathy, sensitivity, and shared experience. The aloneness evaporates and dissipates as we find fellow tribe members, longtime friends we hadn’t yet met, sharing beautiful and unique connections, and feeling real vibes emanating from behind screen names and avatars. Each person is very real to me, and I SO cherish you all ๐Ÿ’˜๐Ÿ’˜๐Ÿ’˜

      Does it (the whole blogging experience) feel similar to you too? ๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’“

      Liked by 4 people

      1. And this love you put into each post, each image, each tag, each comment, etc. is felt by us and the readers following you which is heartwarming and humbling. Your passion generates excitement and enthusiasm. What you said about each person being very real is SO true. In our home we speak of these people as cherished new friends that have allowed us and trusted us into their lives and that is a huge blessing. So everything you shared from your heart is felt by us too so keep on blogging cuz we’re following with interest.

        Liked by 3 people

        1. Oh wow, I’m just beaming and glowing right now ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ’ž. Thank you so, so much for your incredible words; I can’t express how encouraging they are to me ๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’“. Just knowing that my experiences are helping other people means everything to me. It tells me that my goal of helping others when I started the blog is being accomplished. I’m so honored and humbled to have people’s trust, to know that the writing is helping them, to know that other people feel more solid, more at peace, more comfortable in their own skin, and less alone. ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒบ๐Ÿ’–

          I found out that I was very likely on the spectrum after taking several of the main online questionnaires, and immediately I sought out blogs written by others on the spectrum. At first, it was sort of a compulsive curiosity; I wanted to see how their thought processes compared with my own.

          What I found, I did not expect. It wasn’t surprising that their thought processes mirrored mine; what *did* surprise me was how comforted I felt, how validated, vindicated, solid, comfortable, peaceful, etc, I felt. The ground beneath me stopped trembling. The sky brightened. The storm clouds moved out. I found myself saying, “yeah!” and “OMG, me too!!” so many times that I knew I had to give back. The best way I could do that was to pay it forward, to try to help others in the same way, to help others feel the same as I did–that security, that serenity, that self-acceptance and even self-embrace ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’œ

          Thank you for sharing your thoughts; they tell me that I did exactly what I set out to do, and I’m ecstatic that it’s happening.

          Now, something else is happening, something even more amazing – forming bonds with even more amazing people!! Reading their blogs, supporting them, interacting with them, making new friends. It’s so incredibly heartwarming, so precious, so treasured, so cherished, so meaningful. Although I had never flapped my hands much, I totally get it now, because I find myself doing it out of excitement lol ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ’˜๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

          Liked by 3 people

          1. Always ๐Ÿ˜Š. I’ve always been passionate, especially for sharing and caring โค๏ธ. I don’t see that ever going away, rest assured ๐Ÿ’ž. The multiplication effect is amazing, isn’t it? It’s like ripples; they start at the center, wherever that is, and they spread outward in infinity. Love it ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ

            Liked by 3 people

  4. Just wanted to ping some love back at you and to say that I very much appreciate the existence of your blog. I can only repeat what I said before: it’s helping me so much right now. And it’s inspired me to go on my own blogging adventure, which I’m very exited about, but also very nervous about suddenly being out there…but the prospect of becoming part of the wonderful community I can see emerging from the interwebs draws me in.
    On a practical note, the essential reading page is great. It’s going to come in handy whenever I suddenly think “hang on, wasn’t there a post about…”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awww you rock! Thank you ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ˜˜โค๏ธ. Pinging love back atcha! I’m looking very forward to reading your writing! Blogging is an amazing adventure for sure. Never let anyone detract you; can’t please everybody; but I can tell you you’ll definitely please everyone that matters ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™. Best of luck with this!! I’ll be walking beside you ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’ž

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is so incredibly helpful, thank you. Please take care of you first though, and ensure you choose sleep over blogging. For me sleep is vital just to get through the craziness of the busy working/family week. I’m so very sorry to hear of your friend’s ill health. Praying for improvement in their health. I also love and am grateful for the community your blog has created. I treasure the blogs and comments and as I have stated previously, they bring me much comfort. Take care Laina ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’—

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, dear friend! ๐Ÿ˜˜โค๏ธ. Oh yes–got good sleep last night ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ. I actually fell asleep blogging; it’s that relaxing for me sometimes lol ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ’“

      Thank you for all your kind words and your encouraging wishes for my lovely friend ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’–. She does appear to be stable now and she’s elderly, so some of this is to be expected ๐Ÿ’“

      So happy that you’ve gotten reassurance and contentment from reading! So touched ๐Ÿ˜˜. Take care of you as well! ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww thank you so much luv!! Btw I’m enamored with your blog! Thank you for all you do ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ˜Šโค๏ธ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

