Sharing: Done with that autism spectrum “disorder” business

I can very much relate to this!  I totally agree.  I’m all about the constructive, non-pathological approach and mindset.  This is one of the coolest posts I’ve ever read!  The whole blog is great.  🙂

Oh. My. Lord.

outlines of people in different colors

I woke up a bit irritated, today. I’m happy for the weekend, but the weather is dreary, and my shoulder hurts. There’s a whole lot of stuff I want to do, while I have the free time. But I didn’t sleep quite as much as I’d wanted to, which is problematic. Oh, well — I’ll get a nap later. It’ll cut into my plans, but so it goes.

I was also irritated about the whole designation of “disorder” that goes with autism. I got my proverbial mental wheels spinning last night, thinking about Roy Grinker’s assertion that autism is a social construct. Gah! When I think about it, it just seems like yet another straight, white, neurotypical man getting pissy about being left out, and wanting to say that a group he can’t belong to doesn’t exist, rather than accepting that he’s not part of it, and will never be, so…

View original post 2,495 more words

12 Comments

  1. also it isnt a social construct (what tf happened to science, anyway? next theyll say evolution and newtons laws of motion are “social constructs.”) its a breath mint. autism! with retsyn. “taste the rainbow!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting viewpoint, bro! I don’t know enough about social constructs as they might or might not relate to the Asperger’s/autism spectrum, so I can’t comment yay or nay on it yet, but you’ve inspired me to do a little digging! 😁💚💙

      Liked by 1 person

      1. its actually really simple: most things arent “a social construct.”

        * autism: not a social construct
        * chocolate cake: not a social construct
        * the sun: not a social construct (but very close! i mean sun-worship is probably a social construct, but not the sun itself.)
        * gender: well here you have differing opinions. i think it safe to say gender is a bunch of different things– gender vs. sex, etc. and so on…
        * the beatles were not a social construct. the beatles were (at least most of the time they were together) 4 guys from liverpool.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

